Virat Kohli completes historic hat-trick: Full list of ICC award winners

first_imgVirat Kohli completes historic hat-trick: Full list of ICC award winnersICC Awards: New Zealand captain Kane Williamson bagged the ICC Spirit of Cricket award while Kumar Dharmasena was adjudged Umpire of the Year.advertisement Reuters DubaiJanuary 22, 2019UPDATED: January 22, 2019 15:45 IST Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah are the only two players who feature in the Test and ODI teams of the year (Reuters Photo)HIGHLIGHTSAaron Finch’s 76-ball 172 vs Zimbabwe was adjudged T20I Performance of the YearScotland’s Calum Macleod was named Associate Cricketer of the YearEmerging Cricketer of the Year award went to Rishabh PantIndian captain Virat Kohli capped a memorable 2018 season by becoming the first to win the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) cricketer, Test and ODI player of the year awards, the ICC said on Tuesday.Kohli, the top scorer in both Tests and one-dayers in 2018, was also named captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.The 30-year-old top-order batsman scored 1,322 runs in 13 Tests at an average of 55.08, and scored 1,202 runs in 14 ODIs at an average of 133.55, notching up 11 centuries across the formats.”It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year,” Kohli said in a statement.”To be rewarded in this manner… is a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances.”ICC Men’s Cricketer of the YearICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the YearICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the YearCaptain of ICC Test Team of the YearCaptain of ICC Men’s ODI Team of the YearLet’s hear from the man himself, @imvKohli! #ICCAwards (@ICC) January 22, 2019Kohli, who won cricketer and ODI player of the year in 2017, was the unanimous choice for the former award in 2018, with South Africa fast bowler Kagiso Rabada finishing runner-up, the ICC said.With 48% of the vote, India’s triumph in New Zealand to claim their fourth #U19CWC title was voted by you as the ICC Fans’ Moment of the Year 2018! (@ICC) January 22, 2019Rabada also finished second in the Test player category, while Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan was runner-up to Kohli for the ODI award.Full list of award winners:ICC Test Team of the Year 2017-18: Tom Latham (NZ), Dimuth Karunaratne (SL), Kane Williamson (NZ), Virat Kohli (captain) (IND), Henry Nicholls (NZ), Rishabh Pant (IND), Jason Holder (WI), Kagiso Rabada (SA), Nathan Lyon (Aus), Jasprit Bumrah (IND), Mohammad Abbas (PAK).Congratulations to the ICC Test Team of the Year 2018!@Tomlatham2@IamDimuthKane Williamson@imVkohli (c)@HenryNicholls27@RishabPant777@Jaseholder98@KagisoRabada25@NathLyon421@Jaspritbumrah93@Mohmmadabbas111 (@ICC) January 22, 2019ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017-18: Rohit Sharma (IND), Jonny Bairstow (ENG), Virat Kohli (captain) (IND), Joe Root (ENG), Ross Taylor (NZ), Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper) (ENG), Ben Stokes (ENG), Mustafizur Rahman (BAN), Rashid Khan (AFG), Kuldeep Yadav (IND), Jasprit Bumrah (IND).Presenting the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2018!@ImRo45@jbairstow21@imVkohli (c)@root66@RossLTaylor@josbuttler (wk)@benstokes38@Mustafiz90@rashidkhan_19@imkuldeep18@Jaspritbumrah93 (@ICC) January 22, 2019ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India)Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India)Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India)Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Rishabh Pant (India)Congratulations to @RishabPant777, the ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2018!He became the first Indian wicket-keeper to score a Test century in England, and equalled the record for the most catches taken in a Test, with 11 in Adelaide in December.#ICCAwards (@ICC) January 22, 2019Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year – Calum Macleod (Scotland)His two ODI centuries of 2018 fired @CricketScotland to victory against Afghanistan at #CWCQ and a famous win against England at The Grange in June.@calummacleod640 is the ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year 2018! (@ICC) January 22, 2019Men’s T20I Performance of the Year – Aaron Finch (172 off 76 balls v Zimbabwe)(Australia)Umpire of the Year – Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)Spirit of Cricket – Kane Williamson (New Zealand)The ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2018 goes to Kane Williamson, for continuing to be a shining role model of how our game should be played, his behaviour setting an outstanding example on and off the field #ICCAwards (@ICC) January 22, 2019Also Read | Amazing feeling: Virat Kohli thrilled after sweeping ICC awards to create historyAlso Read | Rishabh Pant named ICC Emerging Player of the Year after stellar 2018 seasonAlso Read | Virat Kohli first cricketer to win all 3 ICC Awards after sensational year in Tests and ODIsFor sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from Post your comment Do You Like This Story? Awesome! Now share the story Too bad. Tell us what you didn’t like in the comments Posted byrohan sen Tags :Follow ICC awardsFollow Virat KohliFollow Jasprit BumrahFollow Rishabh PantFollow Kane WilliamsonFollow Kumar Dharmasenalast_img read more

Navy arrests 16 Indians in Kalpitiya

Tension prevails between the fishermen of the two countries who regularly cross into each other’s territorial waters.Local fishermen have alleged that Indian fishermen have clashed with them off the coast of Sri Lanka while Indian fishermen have charged that the Sri Lankan navy has attacked them. These allegations were vehemently denied from both sides. The navy arrested 16 Indian in the Kalpitiya seas this morning, a Navy official said.According to the Navy, the Indians had entered Sri Lankan waters in three boats to catch fish. The clash had occurred when Indian fishermen were seen poaching in Sri Lankan waters, along the International Maritime Boundary. Just last month fishermen from India and Sri Lanka clashed off the seas of Mannar. read more