India name unchanged 12-man squad for 2nd ODI against West Indies

first_imgIndia have announced an unchanged 12-man squad for the second ODI against the Windies which will be played on Wednesday (October 24).India won the first match in Guwahati on Sunday as they comfortably beat the Windies by 8 wickets at the Baraspara Cricket Stadium to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.The Indian team management has decided not to tinker with the winning combination and named the same set of players for the next game which will be played in Visakhapatnam. The final XI however, will be announced by captain Virat Kohli at the toss.Team India for 2nd ODI, Visakhapatnam – Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Khaleel Ahmed #TeamIndia #INDvWIBCCI (@BCCI) October 23, 2018The last game saw Kohli leading from the front and along with vice-captain Rohit Sharma, helped India gun down a target of 323 with 47 balls to spare.Rohit (152*) and Kohli (140) both scored centuries as India romped home with 47 balls left to spare. Rohit and India’s new No.4 Ambati Rayudu (22*) remained unbeaten to end the game a tad early than many would have expected.The loss would remind West Indies that maybe 322 is not the problem but it is the bowling that needs to fire against an Indian team that shows no mercy to average bowling.Kohli and Rohit broke a hoard of records along the way.The hundred was Kohli’s fourth in ODIs in 2018. He had earlier smashed three centuries against South Africa in January.advertisementWith the century, he reached the landmark of 60 international hundreds (36 in ODIs and 24 in Tests) and became the fastest to do so. He reached the landmark in 386 innings, taking 40 innings fewer than Sachin Tendulkar.It was also Kohli’s 22nd hundred while chasing a target in ODI cricket. He now has 14 centuries as a captain in ODIs and is second in the list behind Ricky Ponting, who has 22 while leading the side.The KING is here!This ground and the city of Visakhapatnam has a special bond. Memories aplenty. Let’s create plenty more tomorrow. #TeamIndia #INDvWI BCCI (@BCCI) October 23, 2018Rohit on the other hand, became the fourth Indian to score four ODI centuries. Before him, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and Kohli reached the landmark in ODI cricket.Not only that, Rohit also overtook Ganguly in the list of most sixes in ODI cricket.Kohli and Rohit also recorded the highest partnership while batting second in ODIs and was also the second-highest second wicket partnership in ODIs.This was the fourth time Kohli and Rohit scored centuries in the same match in ODI cricket.While India will be hoping to continue this run, West Indies will look to find answers to their woes ahead of the second ODI at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam on Wednesday.India 12-man squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed (12th man).last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *